If I Were a Proper Writer, I Would …

If I were a proper writer, I would …  write when I rose in the morning, with last night’s dew still clinging to the grass.

I don’t do that because … even though I’m a morning person, I need my morning energy to do grunt work like email pitches, dealing with bureaucracy and ideas for workshops and ways to, you know, make money.

But then again … there is no perfect time of day to write. You just have to make the most of the pockets of time that appear in even the busiest day. If the only time I have in the day to write is when I’m on the bus into town, then that’s when I’ll write.

If I were a proper writer, I would … write in a book-lined room.

I certainly do get my best writing done in my writing room.

But then again … I get a perverse pleasure from writing on the road: in cafes, in banks and on buses, creating a bubble of silence for myself in the midst of chaos. You can’t wait until you’ve found a hallowed spot to write. Create your own bubble and start writing.

If I were a proper writer, I would … thrive on my own company, rather than the company of others.

I don’t do that because … the isolation would drive me mad. That’s why I’m out at least two nights a week.

But then again … mixing with other people offers fertile soil for new ideas to thrive, as I’m stimulated by banter and the ebb and flow of ideas, washed down with wine, coffee and vice laden food.

The idea that only a certain environment or writing process will lead to writing success is a myth. There’s no right way to write. There’s just your way.

What writing myths do you subscribe to? And what myths have you busted?

6 thoughts on “If I Were a Proper Writer, I Would …

Leave a Reply

